Steps to remove hydraulic cylindar

/ Steps to remove hydraulic cylindar #1  

sporteus

Bronze Member
Tractor
John Deere 650 - Very Used!
I've never worked on hydraulics before, so this is a really basic newbie question.

I need to remove one of my hydraulic cylinders so I can have it rebuilt (leaking badly). Do I simply disconnect the hydraulic lines or are there other steps I should take to make this easy? I don't want to screw up the hydraulics or cause myself more problems due to ignorance.

/ Steps to remove hydraulic cylindar #2  
You need to remove any pressure that may be in the cylinder before disconnecting any fluid lines.Do this by actuating cylinder with unit shut off.always use safety goggles and gloves just in case there is any pressure left in the lines.Tape up lines to prevent dirt from entering the system untill you can get the cylinder back on

/ Steps to remove hydraulic cylindar #3  
Yep, remove all pressure. What is this cylinder on?

If its on something like a loader or backhoe, everything needs to be resting on the ground or supported in some other way so that once you loosen the hydraulic lines, things dont start to move on you

/ Steps to remove hydraulic cylindar #4  
After you have everything stable on the ground disconnect the rod end of the cyl [remove pin] and, if you have good valve control, carefully retract the cyl to w/i an ace of its stop. Then turn off the tractor and cycle the valve. With a catch pan under it remove the cyl lines. To save fluid be ready to tie the lines up or else use caps so they dont drain. Disconnect the base of the cyl and remove. Do not change its length or you will eject fluid -- theres a lot of fluid on the rod end. Lay it flat with the ports upward and transport to the hyd shop.

/ Steps to remove hydraulic cylindar