3pt hitch will only raise with fel

/ 3pt hitch will only raise with fel #1  

Thetylerguy

Tractor
2005 mahindra 3510
New to the forum and new to being a tractor owner. I just purchased the mahindra in question and am trying to fix an issue that was caused by seller. Seller tells me he had to replace 2 hoses that run to the back of the tractor, since replacing the 3pt will only raise when raising OR lowering the fel.
Example: I have a scrape blade attached to grade my driveway. I lower the implement and make a pass, when it is time to lift the impliment I pull the lever and nothing happens. When I raise or lower the fel with the 3pt lever in the raised position the implement will then move to the raised position.
I do not have any experience with hydraulic mechanics so any help would be welcomed. Please do not hesitate to point out the obvious as I am a complete newbie with this stuff. Thanks so much guys!

/ 3pt hitch will only raise with fel #2  
Not knowing the hydraulic circuit on that tractor, it makes me wonder if he crossed the two hoses. Very often, hydraulic flow goes to the loader valve and then to the 3-pt and then to the tank. So a proper hookup would be like this:

Loader valve flow loop (open flow when loader valve centered) ------> 3-pt hitch ------> reservoir

Loader valve return (when loader valve actuated) -------> reservoir

If those two lines were crossed somewhere, then I can see how the 3-pt hitch only gets flow when it's coming out of an actuated loader valve. And I think the hydraulic flow would still have a path to the reservoir regardless, so you may not have other symptoms (ie, you're not dead-heading the flow).

If you can find a parts diagram, loader install instructions, or hydraulics schematic for the tractor, I bet it will give the answer. But unless I am not thinking this through correctly, the scenario I described seems like it would explain the behavior you're seeing.

/ 3pt hitch will only raise with fel