G152 Dead in the Water

/ G152 Dead in the Water #1  

Digger 258

Bronze Member
Tractor
Bolens / Iseki G152 & PT-425
G-152 (3cyl TX1300 I think)

I was pulling a light lumber trailer from the front of the house back to the barn. Backed the trailer into it's spot at the barn, and dismounted to unhook the trailer. Mounted back up, threw her in gear, and no movement. Just a rubbing / slight grinding noise. The noise slowly stops as I hold the clutch down (like a shaft is slowing to a stop.) I tried Hi and Lo range, and every gear. Nothing but that new and unsettling noise. I'm not sure where to start looking. I don't think it's the clutch, because it would seem that those wear over time, not suddenly. I don't feel anything different when I shift the gears. I am a novice, but I am thinking I need to check two things: First, I hear there is a pin that connects the axle shaft to the wheel, and second there is a "spline boss" connecting the clutch to the transmission input shaft. Anything else I should be looking at, listening to or checking out? your help is much appreciated!

/ G152 Dead in the Water #2  
Have you checked the adjustment on the clutch? Also, anything stuck in the clutch linkage?

I always start with the simple first.

/ G152 Dead in the Water
I inspected the clutch linkage and all looks as it should, but I did not measure the clutch adjustment - will do that first. Here's why I suspect the clutch is not the problem: With the engine running and the clutch engaged (pedal up) I get the grinding noise. With the disengaged (pedal depressed) the grinding slows to a stop. IIRC, it does this with the tranny in any gear or in neutral. So I assumed the clutch was working to connect/disconnect engine power from the downstream tranny (based on the noise) and so the problem must be downstream of the clutch somewhere. That said, I know so little that any assumption I make is shaky at best.

/ G152 Dead in the Water