John Deere syncro-shift

/ John Deere syncro-shift #1  

Charlie175

Gold Member
Tractor
Mahindra 2015 gear
I admit I have little experience on JD stuff, but I like to learn about all makes. As a kid I used to help out a guy that had a 3020 syncro-shift (I think that is the term) that just confounded me. Looking at my JD book I still am not clear on how that tranny works as the gearing does not seem to be spaced right. I am used to "H" type tranny's with H/L range.
Could you shift between 2 gears, say 3rd to 4th on the fly using the clutch? I guess sliding the tranny lever down one way then over and up or down with R in the middle just throws me off. I remember 8th was all the down and very fast. I sat in the middle of the field many times trying to figure the thing out and never did.

They also had a 2020 with a loader that had 4 gears with I to IV range, at least I could figure that one out.

/ John Deere syncro-shift #2  
This may have nothing to do with what you're asking...so I apologize in advance, but your post brought back a memory.