JD 4020 vs newer models

/ JD 4020 vs newer models #1  

Niji

Silver Member
I've been knocking along with my little JD 850 diesel, and the hay making needs and business have grown around here, and it's clear I need 2 tractors, and one needs to be larger. Most of my needs are for square bales, but I always end up in the situation where I need to get some of the hay round baled--it gets too mature, gets rained on, needs to get up quickly before rain sets in, or the square baler is broken.... I depend on neighbors for round bales, but see clearly I've got to get my own going.

I'm on a low budget for starters, and I've been keeping an eye on the used equip ads. I've been particularly taken with the old JD 4020s. This may be a misguided romantic notion, since I have no experience with that tractor, but I read that they are a solid tractor, and I've seen models claimed to be in good condition, or even somewhat restored, for 6,500-10,000 bucks. I use a fairly new JD 5410 occassionally, and it's pretty decent, but I'm not sure for my needs spending the extra money for a newer tractor like that (not that I have it to spend, just theoretically speaking) is neccesary.

I'm very familiar with the jd 4440, and International 656, 1086, and 1486--all of which I grew up driving. So my question is, for those who know the 4020, is it a good choice for a larger haymaking tractor? Is it worth the money they're asking? And, how might it compare to both newer JD models, or the older IHs for a frame of reference I might best understand?

/ JD 4020 vs newer models #2  
Many thousands of bales have been put up with a 4020. I don't know what they have been going for this year, but about a year ago I saw a few go for over $10000.00 at auctions. They are a simple no frills tractor that run very well.