snow removal

/ snow removal #1  

gforce15

just tring to get some info on what the best tractor with cab and a loader would be for snow removal. im a landscape contractor in st louis and looking at buying a tractor around 100hp to push snow with with a 12ft box. can anyone help me get in the right direction of what size tractor i would need or any experiances you may have any help would be appreciated

/ snow removal #2  
just tring to get some info on what the best tractor with cab and a loader would be for snow removal. im a landscape contractor in st louis and looking at buying a tractor around 100hp to push snow with with a 12ft box. can anyone help me get in the right direction of what size tractor i would need or any experiences you may have any help would be appreciated

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Greetings,

I can honestly tell you that a 12 foot box and an agricultural tractor will not be a good mix simply due to snow weights being 21 pounds per cubic foot being compounded and compressed as it is pushed along to point X.

Thye weight of the snow pack wil increase with melt and refreeze times adding to the snow load and affecting traction to the point you would have to spill off and dump and continue pushing and repeating the push, dump, push, dump, push, dump etc. etc.

A one hundred horsepower agricultural row crop tractor will not have enough
tractive effort simply because it is typically 2 wheel drive or mechanical 4 wheel drive.

You would need a 4 wheel drive plow tractor with dual identical sized tires front and rear in order to accomplish what you want to do WITH ballasted tires front and rear to maintain traction and adhesion.

You need traction and adhesion and the 12 foot box requires a very high
horsepower per foot of width for the reasons I have previously mentioned.