1978 John Deere 850 Project

/ 1978 John Deere 850 Project #1  

wct097

Tractor
John Deere 850
Found this tractor on Craigslist listed as "needs work". I'm in need of a tractor by the end of the year, so I figured I could take on a project and decided to go look at it. I'm new to both diesel and tractors but not new to swinging a wrench, so I figure this would be a good learning experience. Not 100% sure I can get it running without replacing or doing a major rebuild, but I figure that for what I have into it, I can probably sell the loader alone and get most of my money back.

jd2.jpg

jd9.jpg

The previous owner said that it was running when he parked it before his last deployment. Not sure when that was, but I figure it's been sitting for a couple of years. He also said that it ran OK, but was leaking compression from one of the injectors that he had disassembled.

At first glance, it's rough. The muffler was rusted in half, the tires were flat and looked dry rotted. There was a animal nest in the radiator fan, the bucket was sitting in the field, and the hydraulic lines look (I'm not experienced with those) like they've seen better days. The radiator shows signs of leaking and was empty. We tried to hook jumpers to it to see if it would turn but didn't have any such luck. Then we pulled the oil fill plug to check the oil level and were surprised to see water come gushing out. The owner admitted that it was probably just scrap once we realized the engine was full of water and agreed to sell it to me for $1000. I pumped up the tires and got it towed to my brother's farm to start tinkering.