John Deere 750

/ John Deere 750 #1  

steaksauce

I am new to the tractor world and need one to help me clear and landscape about 1 1/2 acres that is full of brush, sapplings and alders. I am looking at two JD 750's. (I own a JD 216 lawn tractor and that thing is a tank! So I am comfortable with JD.) Both are selling for just above $6000 and have FEL's. One has 5000 hours and the other supposedly has 2500. The higher hour tractor was said to have come from a golf course. Is 5000 hours a lot? The dealer said they just resealed the front axle, rebuilt the steering box, and repaired the linkage for the loader control valve. I have a natural aprehension to this one as I know how people tend to treat things that aren't their own, but I may be overreacting. It has turf tires too and I am a bit worried about traction in loose dirt and mud. A few people around here are familiar with the dealer and say he stands behind his stuff.

He also has a few grey markets and new Branson's and Mahindra's, but I am afraid they are a little too far out of my price range.

The 2500 hour tractor is at a large dealer and I don't know the history of it and am afraid they don't either.

I am very appreciative of any feedback.

Dan

/ John Deere 750 #2  
Any time you buy a used item (car, truck, wife), there is some risk.
The only thing I can advise is going for the lower hour tractor. That doesn't mean it's a better machine...but less hours might mean you've got more time before a rebuild of the engine or other drive line components.
Turf tires aren't the best choice for field work, but if that's what they've got...well, that's what you go with.

/ John Deere 750 #3  
Since its only 1 1/2 acres, maybe you could rent a similar machine with a brush mower, then stay on top of the landgrass with your 216. This would give you some time to sort out an even better deal with the tires, loader and hours that would make you comfortable.

/ John Deere 750 #4