647 or 655 tiller

/ 647 or 655 tiller #1  

BGT

Can you guys enlighten me on these tillers? I've done a search of the forums, and some of the posts mention offset. What is all that about?

Also, I was intending on going with the 647 but even the dealer mentioned something about covering my tracks. I believe the 647 is 4' wide. The 2320 manual says the tractor is:

Overall Width (Minimum) 1188 mm (46.8 in.)

Is the 647 not wide enough to cover the tracks? What's bad about tracks anyway?

Another thing I wanted to ask about is, I've seen some posts on here about "tilling yourself into a corner." I don't understand how you can do that. When you go as far as you can go, don't you just lift the tiller, turn the tractor around, then back up and till up the spot where the tractor was sitting before you turned it around?

I'm new to all this, but this is the only way to learn.....:ashamed:

Thanks a bunch!

/ 647 or 655 tiller #2  
Welcome to the forum!

For a 2320 with 18 pto hp I would go with the 647 tiller and it should cover your tracks. Forget offset, you don't need it. Tracks, we all make them but try to plan your job to minimize them. Otherwise you seem to be on the right track for small scale projects.

/ 647 or 655 tiller #3  
A 647 tiller is the appropriate size for a 2320. It would operate a 655, but this is slightly beyond its PTO HP capabilities.

John

/ 647 or 655 tiller #4  
Can you guys enlighten me on these tillers? I've done a search of the forums, and some of the posts mention offset. What is all that about?

Is the 647 not wide enough to cover the tracks? What's bad about tracks anyway?

Another thing I wanted to ask about is, I've seen some posts on here about "tilling yourself into a corner." I don't understand how you can do that. When you go as far as you can go, don't you just lift the tiller, turn the tractor around, then back up and till up the spot where the tractor was sitting before you turned it around?
................QUOTE]