Used JD955 verus New JD 4110

/ Used JD955 verus New JD 4110 #1  

Anonymous Poster

Hi

I am currently shopping for a tractor and have come across a used JD 955. Being a tractor newbie, I'm trying to figure out whether buying a larger used tractor makes better sense than buying a smaller new tractor.

I plan to use the tractor to haul horse manure, plow my driveway in the winter (.3km), harrow 5 acres and pull a manure spreader.

I have looked at the JD 4110. The price for a new one with no attachments is ~15K Cdn. It looks like a nice tractor (although I am also looking at a Kubota B7500, which also looks like a nice tractor).

One of the dealerships also has a 1996 JD 955 with 1800 hours. It has no attachments, and the price is the same as the 4110, ~15K Cdn.

From my uderstanding, the 955 has more horsepower and is a bigger tractor (at least I think it is).

Considering that the 955 and the 4110 are both the same price, does it make ansy sense to buy a larger used tractor, or stick with a smaller new tractor, where I will get a 2 year warranty, no hours, etc?

Is having a larger tractor (even if it is used) a better choice for long term growth? Also, is 1800 hours alot for a tractor?

Any help would be apprecitated.

Thanks

Garick

/ Used JD955 verus New JD 4110 #2  
I would want an independant mechanic look at the older tractor. That isn't a lot of hours, if well taken care of, too many if it was beaten. Are you going to want to add a loader, blade or blower? Get each priced configured, there may be more differance. There are so many incentives on new tractors, that it gets hard to justify used, sometimes.

/ Used JD955 verus New JD 4110
Thats good advice. If I decide that to buy the 955, I would certainly get it checked out first.