2012 5E Limited build quality

/ 2012 5E Limited build quality #1  

MattLynch

Gold Member
Tractor
2015 MF 5612
Since I am new to this forum I should start with a little intro first. I am a new farmer (grew up on a sheep farm, took over farm after it being non-operational for 10 years, looking at running 1000 ewes on 400+ acres) so I needed to purchase reliable tractor/equipment.

I did a lot of research and narrowed down my choices to a Massey 2680HD and a Deere 5093E. I needed this size of tractor to start so I could drive through all barn doors and need to use it for all aspects of farming for 3-5 years until a larger tractor is in the budget.

Although the Deere is not as much of an Ag tractor as the Massey I chose it after discussing dealer support with other local farmers and considering I have had good luck with my hay equipment which is also John Deere. I am hoping that it can withstand actual farm use, which brings me to my point.

I am not at all happy with the build quality of this tractor. Looked the tractor over when it was deliverd and found rate of drop contol knob not attached to anything(bolt missing), cracked paint on fender, oil pan looked like it had been thrown around and had big gouges in paint. Within 20 hours of what I would consider "light" ag use (mostly loader work) it developed 3 different oil leaks(1 bad o-ring and 2 loose fittings), the coolant in the resevoire went from full to empty and it has very little heat.

I took the tractor back to the dealer and they fixed the oil leaks, added coolant, fixed fender and then installed the options (intake pre heater, mirrors etc) that they charged me for but "forgot" to install.

My problems have made me question how this tractor is going to work for me in the future so is anyone else on here using a 5E limited for farm use and how is it holding up? Just so you know the $65000 for the 5095M was more than what I was willing to spend for start-up.

/ 2012 5E Limited build quality #2