Price Check Price for 1994 JD855

/ Price for 1994 JD855 #1  

norcal

Wanted to check the price on a 1994 JD855. It has 900 hours and comes with 4wd, ripper, box scraper, loader, top & tilt, hydrostat trans. He is asking $10,500. Havent seen it yet as its over an hours drive away. The owner says it looks good but could look better with some paint. Im new to the tractor thing - how reliable is a 9 yr old 855 with 900 hours?

TIA

/ Price for 1994 JD855 #3  
That price seems a bit high if you are going to have to some maintenance and painting, etc. With 900 hours I'd try for at least 1000 less. There are some good implements with it but.....I've seen a few 855's go on sale on ebay lately for pretty good prices. Whatever you decide to do though my 855 has been a great tractor.

I bought my 96 855 (4WD) with 275 hours with front pallet forks, tiller, landscape rake (home made), loader, canopy, for 12,000.

Hope this helps - depends on where you live also. Everything seems to cost more out here in the west.

/ Price for 1994 JD855
Yeah, after researching the TBN and making lots of calls last weekend for used tractors I am realizing that the west is more expensive - and I think that Cali is on the top of that list.

Also, Im surprised that only two people have responded to this price question on the 855. Is this tractor not very common or ...?

/ Price for 1994 JD855 #5  
The Parts Catalog shows serial numbers from years 1986-1997. There may have been some 1998 models also. I don't know if the 855 was produced before 1986. The serial numbers listed give only a general range (ie LVO855x 135000-170000). Except, for 1994 specific numbers are given which total 1423 units, if I added right. I suspect there are plenty of 855s out there somewhere.
I concur with tdenny, my 855 has been great for me. Good luck deciding. Let us know.

OkieG

/ Price for 1994 JD855 #6