Buying Advice Playing dealers off each other?

/ Playing dealers off each other? #1  

plesciad

Tractor
None
Hi everyone, I'm sure this question has been addressed on TBN many times, but I couldn't find the answer. I'm looking at 4052M's (loader, HST) and called the two nearest dealers (different chains). The dealer about 80 miles away, in a major agricultural region, is quoting me at about $3k cheaper (including delivering the tractor) than the more local guys. Their prices undoubtedly are lower because of the economics of the region.

80 miles away: $32k (with tax and delivery)
10 miles: $35,300 (with tax)

I am new to this. What's the game here? Can I let our local dealer know to see if he'll drop the price?

The far away dealer essentially said they need to say our farm is in their county in order to pull this off but they want our business. :confused3:

/ Playing dealers off each other? #2  
Hi everyone, I'm sure this question has been addressed on TBN many times, but I couldn't find the answer. I'm looking at 4052M's (loader, HST) and called the two nearest dealers (different chains). The dealer about 80 miles away, in a major agricultural region, is quoting me at about $3k cheaper (including delivering the tractor) than the more local guys. Their prices undoubtedly are lower because of the economics of the region.

I am new to this. What's the game here? Can I let our local dealer know to see if he'll drop the price?

The far away dealer essentially said they need to say our farm is in their county in order to pull this off but they want our business. :confused3:

I can't tell you how many times I tried this and failed. I've gone to dealers with written contracts showing a lesser price and some have been flat our rude. One car dealer I went to had the same vehicle a dealer was advertising for less, but an hours drive away. I said I would like to buy local can you meet or beat the price - he said nope go buy it from them.