Advice on a old 2440...

/ Advice on a old 2440... #1  

Trophyduck

Tractor
LS XR4145 (45hp HST)
I'm in the market for a tractor, having just bought a place on 50 acres.
I got word of a 1981 JD 60 hp tractor, no loader or attachments (I didn't verify model # yet) It only has 1200 hours which I know is really good......Being so old, is it something to avoid? Are parts readily available? Being 2wd, is 4wd really needed? (In Maryland's Eastern shore...flat land) I will be keeping woods roads cleared and bush-hogging mostly...doing some food plot planting
I'm new to all this and leery of a 35+ yr old tractor even if it is in great shape. Or is this something that runs "forever".....

I was originally looking for something in the 40hp range with 4wd

Thanks for your help

/ Advice on a old 2440... #2  
2440 is a very good model. It was made from 1977 until 1982. There were 2 versions. some significant changes were introduced in 1980, although they were both good. With proper ballast, these tractors can be effective loader tractors although mfwd is always a benefit for loader work. What transmission option does it have? Reverser, Hi Lo, Independent pto? If it has been maintained properly, should still give many years of service.

/ Advice on a old 2440... #3  
I was originally looking for a 45HP tractor in the early 90s. It seemed everyone with 5-20 acres wanted this size. I ended up buying a 1974 2030, which became the 2440.
I would not worry about parts, I can find parts for 2030. For flat land, I would not worry abut it being 2wd.
The only reason I might "pass" on the purchase is if it has the collar shift transmission (which my 2030 has) I hate having to come to full stop to change gears.
I agree with jd110, it should last many years, especially with only 1200 hours. My 2030 has 3000 more hours than that and has not been overhauled.