John Deere 318

/ John Deere 318 #1  

tphauler

Hello everyone. I am new to your site and found it to be quite interesting. I have no JD background so I thought I'd try to get some. I have a chance to bid on a 318 in what I would consider fair condition. It has a brand new 48 in. power blower deck with baggger. I'm not sure of the year. It has a linmar ? engine. I don't believe it has been started for years. I put some fuel in the carb and it started right up. The hour meter says 1245. I moved it with the hydro and it went fwd and rev. Just looking for thoughts on what this machine may be worth. Also wondering if there are any specific items to check for. Look forward to chatting with the folks in the JD fold. Thanks Jeff

/ John Deere 318 #2  
It's very difficult to start throwing values around without seeing the machine. I can offer that the 318 is a very desirable/collectible garden tractor because it represents Deere's breakthrough with both a hydrostat tranny and power steering. The fact that the tractor you are looking at has a "Linmar" tells me that the engine has been replaced. The machine most likely was delivered with a stock Onan engine. Linmar bought out Onan and still carries both names, but newer blocks will be apparent. My first blush tells me that the Onan was replaced--not necessarily a bad thing. I'm always sniffing for parts for an old Onan I have on a Gravely rider. Not because I need them yet, but because I know OEM parts are nearly impossible to find.

A little more on the engine model and spec, as well as the serial number of the machine will likely clarify your questions. You might also consider taking this to the Lawn and Garden discussion board where you will find a few more expert members on JD GTs. There are also a few "clubs" out there that are dedicated to JD garden tractors. Good luck.

/ John Deere 318 #3  
Jeff,