Insurance Tractor insurance

/ Tractor insurance #1  

Bill_Ryan

Bronze Member
Tractor
TC35D
For those who financed a tractor, what was required for tractor insurance? Did you go with JD's insurance? If so, what was the yearly cost?

Did homeowner's insurance cover it? If so, who do you have your homeowner's with?

I'll be calling my insurance agent Monday, but want to know what others did....

Thanks,

Bill

Bill Ryan
EnDeering Acres Farm
Deering, NH

/ Tractor insurance #2  
Bill,

I believe there was a thread not too long ago on the subject of insurance - maybe a search will turn it up. When I bought my Kubota I financed the purchase through Kubota credit, and I was required to show proof of insurance coverage. I told my insurance agent the cost of the equipment, that I would be keeping it in our garage, and that I would be using it only on our property. He sent me a fax stating that it would be covered, and as it turned out there was no increase in our premium. I'm no expert on insurance, but I think that many people find that their existing homeowner's policy will cover the tractor sufficiently to satisfy the finance company.

Rob

/ Tractor insurance #3  
I got J.D. ins.,about 500 for 5 years.I must admit i realy dont know exactly what coverage i realy baught.My home shop coverage is for20k.The tractor would have doubled the cost. maybe someone will shed some light?

/ Tractor insurance #4  
As long as your tractor doesn't leave your property and is not used for financial gain your home owners should cover it. If you hire out you will need an inland marine policy to cover the tractor as well as the property of others. Typically an inland marine policy will not be that expensive, depending on the cost of the tractor.

2-31714-Cliffsig.gif

/ Tractor insurance #5