A Good Deal on a Slightly Used 5105?

/ A Good Deal on a Slightly Used 5105? #1  

Tarheelman

Tractor
TC48DA (R1 tires) with 18LA FEL, HD bucket with toothbar, 2 rear remotes and grill guard
While visiting a JD dealer over the weekend to just look over some models, the dealer had a "great deal" for me. I am still in the evaluation stage (brand and model) and not ready to buy yet, but he priced a used 2005 JD 5105 with roughly 100 hours that was used as a "rental". It is 4wd , ag tires with dual mid scv and two rear scv's plus telescoping draft links. He also included a preheater as well, all for the tidy sum of $20,425.00. There is also roughly 18 months of warranty left on the unit.

Is this a fair price? I'm also evaluating dealers and really do not care to deal with a dealer who may high-ball me on this deal or another new tractor that I might like better.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

/ A Good Deal on a Slightly Used 5105? #2  
I'm not a JD expert, but I've read on TBN about people getting 20% off MSRP on new JD's. Try going to the JD web site and look for the "Build Your Own" link. I came up with $24,782 MSRP for the tractor you describe. That would make this dealer's price about 17% off - for a used tractor.

/ A Good Deal on a Slightly Used 5105? #3  
Like Bill said MSRP is $24782.00 not including the preheater. At 20% dealer discount new price should be around $20,000.00. If you could get him to $19,000 out the door that would be a good price.

I talked to a dealer in Hickory, NC last week and got a price of $23,500 for a new 5205. The only thing I don't like about these tractors, they are not shift-on-the-go and there are several places that I need to shift down on the road when traveling to different tracts of land I brush hog. Otherwise I would buy one. I am now looking at a 5225 as well as bota and NH.

/ A Good Deal on a Slightly Used 5105? #4