JD X500 vs X700?

/ JD X500 vs X700? #1  

lispro

Hi all,
I am looking for a first tractor for a new proprerty of about 10 acres, with 3 acres to regularly mow. The property is in great shape and I am looking for a mower (which is what I will do 98% of the time). Would there be a big time difference in mowing 3 acres with the X500 with a 54"deck and a X700 with a 62" deck? I am thinking about new as I have no experience here and like the 4 year warranty. I don't plan on many other attachments, maybe a front blade for rare plowing. I might also do some occasional brush mowing and was thinking about a tow behind trail mower. I don't think I would need/use a true CUT and of course I am trying to keep the price down. Any ideas or input or ideas what a reasonable offer would be for these options?
Thanks

/ JD X500 vs X700? #3  
You may wish to price the 2305 also. It is a sub cut and might come in at or even below the price of an X700. Though some have said it does not mow as well as the X series, I am not sure I buy that. It mows well, and can do other things. I have had an X 595 (the predecessor to the 700's) and a 335 (the predecessor to the 500's) and can say without a doubt the 500 is likely not enough machine to mow your volume forever. They are nice and can mow three acres, but the difference in speed and efficiency and comfort between them and the 700 series is quite large. The 595 I had was quite the machine and mowed great. It was durable and very solidly made. I would go either with that or with a 2305, at a minimum

John M

/ JD X500 vs X700? #5  
Hi all,