LX178 Electrical System-Charging

/ LX178 Electrical System-Charging #1  

CaptMarion

What charges the battery on an LX178 with Kawasaki Water-cooled VTwin 15 HP when the engine is running?

Is there a generator or alternator somewhere? I looked pretty closely, but I couldn't see anything that jumped out at me. Unfortunately I don't have a shop manual.

While it isn't too much of an issue to just throw a charger on the battery every so often, I'd like to get it working correctly.

Thanks,
-KM
JD LX178
1946 Ford 2N
1950 Ford 8N

Last edited:
   / LX178 Electrical System-Charging #2  
The battery can be charged the same as a car battery. Connect charger pos cable first, Neg cable next ( recommended to frame ), plug in charger. Charge at 10 amps or less for 6 to 12 hours. How old is the battery? Is your water cooled motor by Kawasaki or other?

/ LX178 Electrical System-Charging
I know how to put it on charge-- that's what I've been doing for at least 5 years now. I actually just went and bought a new battery today as it had a several-year-old battery on it that would discharge enough after a couple of times mowing that the PTO clutch wouldn't engage.

It's the 15-HP Kawasaki Water-cooled VTwin...

What I'm asking is, does the lawnmower have something that provides a charge while the motor is running? Like the alternator in a car or on a bigger tractor...?

/ LX178 Electrical System-Charging #4  
Under the flywheel there is an electrical coil that charges the battery. There is also a voltage regulater. The charging coil does the same thing as an alternotor.
My 17 HP charges at 15 amp regulated. Yours is probably the same. I found the specs on yours it charges at 15 amp just like mine. LX279 My original battery lasted 10 years before replacement. Never had to charge it. It was a heavy duty 500 CCA battery. Replaced it with a 495 CCA from JD.

Last edited:
Okay, that's getting somewhere.