Used X540 deal?? Plowing Opinions?? Better options??

/ Used X540 deal?? Plowing Opinions?? Better options?? #1  

roch485

Tractor
I'm looking to replace a 175 hyrdo that I've been operating for the last 27+ years (parents bought it when I was a kid). After riding my father-in-laws 425 and my dads x304, I'm leaning towards getting a better quality used tractor instead of a new one. My hope is to get another 25 years out of the next tractor. I only have about an acre of mostly flat land (one steep section), but plan to snow plow 120' of flat driveway. I live in upstate New York so snow fall is expected, but I typically take care of it twice a day. I also move firewood around with a small cart. Given the application, I'm shying away from the base 300's.

My local dealer has a 2007 X540 with 212 hours on it for less than $4K (my limit). I test rode it around the facility and it sounds and runs great. It comes with a 54" deck, which is too large for me so the dealer will swap it for a 48" deck that has 130 hours on it at no charge. The unit is in good shape. No major damage, just minor brush scratches on the hood. The weight supports and hitch have paint missing so it was used to tow equipment and possible front end-duty of some type. The dealer hadn't cleaned the unit yet when I looked at it, but it looked great. Some small leaves inside, deck was slightly dirty had a normal level of grease around the spindle bearings.

Since it's out of warrenty, the dealer is offering a 50/50 arrangement until this summer (we split the cost of any issues). They will change out all of the fluids, perform all the required preventitive maintenance, and also inspect the PTO arrangment to make sure no bolts are about to back out.