Learned big lesson on j20d hy-gard fluid

/ Learned big lesson on j20d hy-gard fluid #1  

tdurham

Tractor
X485
I hope to pass on my big lesson. Will try to make this short and to the point. I bought my used X485 almost 4 years ago. Went to the dealer where original owner purchased it and got all the filters, oil, and hydro fluid. I knew nothing about the x485 other than it seemed like an awesome lawn tractor. Went there and asked for all the correct "stuff".

Today, i just went to another local JD dealer and requested j20d hydro fluid. Bottom line is this, He gave me J20C, NOT j20d!!!! Just as the original dealer did. I can't believe these guys. started researching after I got it to be sure I got the correct thing. No where on the front of the containers does it have j20c or j20d. If the manual is going to specify something, it should be clearly on the front of the jugs since both of my local JD dealers don't know anymore than a Walmart guy. I have been running j20c for 3 1/2 years and it just burns me up. I run only fully synthetic oils as I believe the oil is the live of the engine. Can't change anything about the last 3+ years but I now actually have j20d.

So for you guys who are new to JD lawn tractors and have not yet learned the ropes, do not assume your local JD dealer knows what they are talking about. The product number on the j20d jug is TY22000. And for the Harvard graduate who writes the owners manual, they should put the part number instead since j20d since it is not anywhere on the jug.

On a brighter note, after almost 4 years, I now have a cat 1 hitch with a few 3ph implements. Also just got my Johnny Bucket in today so I am finally using the x485 to its potential :)

Tim

/ Learned big lesson on j20d hy-gard fluid #2