John Deere 320...no fuel

/ John Deere 320...no fuel #1  

itch71

Tractor
John Deere 320
Hi guys,

I'm new to the forums from Montreal Canada.

Trying to fire up a 320 that's been sitting idle for 3 years. The tractor worked fine to the day we stored her 3 years ago. I've got strong spark but no fuel. I've never worked on a tractor myself before but it seems obvious to me that the fuel is fed by a pump. How would I diagnose the problem? Is there a switch that's not telling the pump to pump? Or might the pump itself be shot?

Thanks for any help

Itch

/ John Deere 320...no fuel #2  
Welcome to the forum. After three years, I would start at the gas line port coming out of the tank all the way to the carb which probably needs a very thorough cleaning.

/ John Deere 320...no fuel #3  
Welcome to TBN.

Not real familiar with the 320, but I think it has a sediment bowl and shutoff. If you unscrew the sediment bowl, and open the petcock, are you getting fuel out of the tank? If you have fuel here, then I believe there is a fuel solenoid at the carb. If you unscrew this - do you have fuel here? If yes, can you hear the solenoid retract when the key is turned on? If no - check the power to the solenoid. In a pinch - you can cut the needle off the solenoid. (it's there to keep the tractor from backfiring when you shut off the tractor.)

If all is good there, I would take the carb off and clean it - probably gummed up.

I have had to pull the entire fuel system including the tank on one that sat for years. The fuel like were solid with gummed fuel.

Good luck, spark, air and fuel - pretty much all you need!!

Enjoy TBN!!

/ John Deere 320...no fuel #4  
I agree that you should start from the tank to the engine and mark sure everything is free flowing. I would also get a new fuel filter. Also check the fuel open close valve that is near the fuel filter.

/ John Deere 320...no fuel
Thanks for the insight guys!