JD 316 garden tractor will not run - gas pumps to engine but will not start

/ JD 316 garden tractor will not run - gas pumps to engine but will not start #1  

jeturn

Tractor
John Deere 316
Will not run although gas is getting through - changed fuel filter but machine will still not start

/ JD 316 garden tractor will not run - gas pumps to engine but will not start #2  
Will not run although gas is getting through - changed fuel filter but machine will still not start

I am not familiar with the 316, is it carb'd?

I am a small engine mechanic, and it could be numerous things. One of the biggest issues I see is old fuel, or fuel with moisture in it. Even gasoline with stabilizer in it will not last long. If it is old fuel, you will need to remove the carb, take it apart, clean it, and put it back on. Easy as pie for me, but I do 20 of them a day. If you aren't comfortable, take it to a shop.

You could also have a broken rocker arm, burnt out valve. It isn't common but I see engines skip timing every once in a while.

Start with the simple things first. Just because fuel is getting to the carb, does not mean it's getting to the engine. If you know fuel is going into the engine, check for spark. If you have spark, and fuel, start looking at valves. Don't forget to rule out simple things like a broken switch that could be keeping the coil grounded out, preventing spark. Again, you will see this when you check for spark.

/ JD 316 garden tractor will not run - gas pumps to engine but will not start #3  
jeturn
what engine do you have?
kohler single ?
onan twin, if so which one?
thank you. boomer ( the used onan engine parts guy )

/ JD 316 garden tractor will not run - gas pumps to engine but will not start #4  
Hiya,

Here is how I troubleshoot small 4 cycle engine starting issues:
1) crank or pullstart the engine over
2) place a cupped hand over the exhaust outlet, Do you feel a puff of air when the engine turns over?