Tractor
    Kioti LK3054,John Deere 420 L&G

Default JD 420 Rebuild

I'm thinking about rebuilding the B-Series engine in the 1984 420. I'm not a mechanic. Anyone have a rough estimate on the cost of the rebuild? Anyone in the area of Mooresville IN that would be interested in doing it? Ha Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using TractorByNet

Silver Member
    Tractor
    LX188/445/755

Default Re: JD 420 Rebuild

Quote Originally Posted by JDKiotiboys3 View Post
    Anyone have a rough estimate on the cost of the rebuild?
    I suspect it's an Onan engine. The cost might be more than the mower is worth.
    I know some of the JD engines are terribly expensive to buy parts for, and with labor it gets ridiculous.

If you can find the engine part/serial number, Google it and see what pops up.
    A place called partstree sells some replacement engines.

If you could get REAL lucky you might find a used engine off a mower that has been parted out.

Tractor
    Kioti LK3054,John Deere 420 L&G

Hey thanks. It is the original B series Onan engine

Sent from my iPhone using TractorByNet

Platinum Member

If your intending on keeping the 420 I would look at what could substitute for the Onan. They were good in their day but expensive and scarse parts make them problematic.
    I wouldn't buy one just for that reason. There are too many Yanmars around that seem to last forever with proper maint.

Tractor
    Kubota X 4

Neighbor short blocked his 420 a few years ago and not cheap, there are companies doing a repower kit with a Briggs or Honda engine $1750-$2100 range, I told him he should of went with the 430 it would still be going. Only reason he keeps it is the huge bagger otherwise his kubota BXs are more powerful.

David Kb7uns
    Grand L3130GST LA723 Loader, ATI grapple, ATI grapple bucket, WR Long front remote, Kubota rear remotes, Bradco 408 Backhoe with thumb, 60"KK brush hog, 60" RM Finish Mower, Speeco Post Auger, 72" KK rear blade, 60" box blade