Problem with 62C deck (on X495)

/ Problem with 62C deck (on X495) #1  

Neandertaler

Bronze Member
Tractor
john deere x495
Hi everyone,

i just bought my first GT and settled on a used 2003 X495 with a 62c deck and 1200 hours on it. Today i removed the deck for the first time in order to install gator blades. unfortunately the blades were too long and did not fit correctly, but that is not the issue. I took the time to clean the deck and found that the right blade spindle does not look normal as it does not align with the underside of the deck like the other two spindles. Somebody actually has installed washers underneath.......! :O

I am a newbie but that really Looks weird......any thoughts and suggestions????

WP_20130625_005.jpg

/ Problem with 62C deck (on X495) #2  
unfortunately the blades were too long and did not fit correctly

The blade for that deck should have been Oregon # 396-771.

right blade spindle does not look normal as it does not align with the underside of the deck like the other two spindles

You're right,there is definitely something amiss with that spindle. It should be flush with the deck. Can't see any reason for washers. JD Parts website will have the complete breakdown of your tractor. Just go to the catalog and put in your tractor model.

https://jdparts.deere.com/servlet/com.deere.u90.jdparts.view.publicservlets.HomeUnsigned

Greg

/ Problem with 62C deck (on X495)
Well i thought so. Unfortunately I did not found out before. As a newbie the cut seemed ok as I do not have any reference. Although I can see different paths of the blades in the grass, the cut is ok for me as I do no have a golf course but a rough simple lawn. Also I did not experience any vibrations. So my main question is now: