2014 X739, which deck for best cut?

/ 2014 X739, which deck for best cut? #1  

Eric102

Gold Member
Tractor
John Deere 3320 John Deere X739
Considering a new X739 for just mowing the lawn, have a JD3320 for all the other chores but its way to big for mowing in tight quarters and on side slopes. Has anyone had the chance to compare the 48" Edge Xtra Deck vs the 54" High Capacity Deck? For me the size doesn't really matter since my lawn area is less than an acre but I would like the best cut (least amount of scalping). Will also be getting a powerflow/bagging system if that would make any difference. I have an old 87 JD318 with a 46" deck now but its about time to upgrade toys :).

/ 2014 X739, which deck for best cut? #2  
I have the 54HC on my X739, but haven't used it yet. I've been using a 54" on a 425 for the past 19 years. The old gravely that the 425 replaced had a 38" deck. The gravely cut was the best I've ever experienced. I think for two reasons: width and speed. Smaller decks almost always give you a better cut. The gravely had 2 ranges, 4 gears - all of them slow, slow, slow. Made for a good cut, but took forever.

I don't know about the 48 Xtra edge. It might yield a slightly better cut just because it's smaller. But, JD and everyone else raves about the HC decks. I know one thing it sure has a deep pan. I've never seen one with such a deep pan before. It's much deeper than my 425 54" deck. And way heavier, not that the old deck is a lightweight by any means. The deck on my 425 has been awesome, and still is. So, I'm expecting the HC will be the last one I'll ever need.

I think the HC will give you longer service, if 20 vs 25 years or so really matters to you.

/ 2014 X739, which deck for best cut?
Thanks for the input, I'm just starting my research so I don't really know much about the new decks and mowers, any suggestions are appreciated.

Is the HC the same or similar to the previous 7-iron decks?

/ 2014 X739, which deck for best cut? #4