Ballast Ideas for my new Ballast Box

/ Ideas for my new Ballast Box #1  

mkoreen

Tractor
John Deere 2305
Hi all. After reading the 100 or so posts on Ballast Boxes, I have decided to make my own... The $200+ JD ballast box is good looking and functional, but being a carpenter, I decided to make my own forms and pour concrete...

Now the question: I am going to end up with a big peice of rock. besides adding PVC tubes and a recess for tools, painting JD green etc... I was thinking of using one of those aluminum 12x18 embossed signs (you know nothing runs like a deere + JD logo) to spice it up. if I put my sign in the form, it should come out in the concrete right? my neighbor thinks It'll never come out right... if i tap on the form (aka vibrate) it should look great right?

Any thoughts, suggestions, alternative ideas etc?

/ Ideas for my new Ballast Box #2  
Yes, a couple of thoughts, first don't use pvc, if it breaks your kinda stuck, I did mine with pvc and after realized I should of used steel, put a couple of 4" pipes and a couple of 2" pipes, with the larger pipes you can put a chain saw in or a hand held leaf blower.
Also maybe a receiver tube, not for serious towing cause then you wouldn't need the weight but just for moving something around the yard, plus there are so many acs now that go in the 2" receiver.
JB,

Attachments

• P8229599.JPG
    P8229599.JPG
    422.1 KB · Views: 690
  • PA110009.JPG
    PA110009.JPG
    455.3 KB · Views: 536
   / Ideas for my new Ballast Box
JB4310 said:
Yes, a couple of thoughts, first don't use pvc, if it breaks your kinda stuck, I did mine with pvc and after realized I should of used steel, put a couple of 4" pipes and a couple of 2" pipes, with the larger pipes you can put a chain saw in or a hand held leaf blower.
Also maybe a receiver tube, not for serious towing cause then you wouldn't need the weight but just for moving something around the yard, plus there are so many acs now that go in the 2" receiver.
JB,