A couple 447 BH questions from beginner.

/ A couple 447 BH questions from beginner. #1  

Eric102

Gold Member
Tractor
John Deere 3320 John Deere X739
Hi, after several years of shopping (and lurking on these forums) I recently purchased a lightly used 08 3320 with a 447 BH. I'm new to both tractors and implements so I may be asking some really dumb questions here.

1. On the 447 backhoe is it normal for the stabilizers to slowly fall to the horizontal position after a number of days of inactivity?

2. When retracting the boom is it normal for it to snap back and crash against the stops with hardly any pressure being applied to the control stick as the boom nears the end of its travel? The other control motions seem to work much more smoothly and predictably.

Thanks for any insights, Eric

/ A couple 447 BH questions from beginner. #2  
Welcome to TBN:D

1. On the 447 backhoe is it normal for the stabilizers to slowly fall to the horizontal position after a number of days of inactivity?

Yes, perfectly normal, you can put a strap between the two legs to prevent this.

2. When retracting the boom is it normal for it to snap back and crash against the stops with hardly any pressure being applied to the control stick as the boom nears the end of its travel? The other control motions seem to work much more smoothly and predictably.

Yes, It's kind of the geometry of backhoes. It will get better the more you parctice:D

/ A couple 447 BH questions from beginner. #3  
Hi Eric:

I have an '06 3320 with a 447, and as Kenny said-- Yes and Yes. Digs like a champ.

Steve

/ A couple 447 BH questions from beginner. #4  
Yes, stabilizers partially leak down over a few days.