Just trying to learn

/ Just trying to learn #1  

carolinadozer

Tractor
John deere 2440
I'm a beginner at both farming and vegetable growing and am completely overwhelmed by both. My tractor is a John Deere 2440 and I have about 20 acres of fields to tend in the central part of NC. No real pressure to succeed, but would really like to grow vegetables to help friends, family, and community in what appears to be ever tougher times. A friend w/ a good deal of farming experience was helping, but has left the area in search of work. With a disc and a cultivator(which I know nothing about setting up), I hope to plant around 3 acres of vegetables and 4 acres of watermelon and cantaloupes. If nothing grows, I lose nothing but time, seed and a little seed. Anybody with any advice or direction would be greatly appreciated!! Best of luck to all this season.

/ Just trying to learn #2  
Welcome to TBN:D

There are lots of threads in the "attachments" forum about those implements if you want to search around-otherwise it would be best to ask specific questions about them there as it will get more views than here.

/ Just trying to learn #3  
Welcome to tbn. Carolinadozer.Sound like a caring person wish you well with
your new garden.You can get a lot of information here if you give more information on soil,plants,equipment.Try search at the top it will guide you
to almost every thing about gardening. Good luck. Framer

/ Just trying to learn #4