Should I upgrade?

/ Should I upgrade? #1  

trook

Gold Member
Tractor
JD 5075E Cab
I currently use a JD3320 (32/25hp) with a Frontier RC2060 rotary cutter. I have been using this combination for about 2 months to bush hog small pieces of commertial property (2-4 acres). After realizing that much of this property has lots of hidden goodies (large holes, deep ruts, chunks of concrete, 1/4" rebar, etc) hidden in the 5ft brush, I am considering upgrading to a 6ft medium duty rotary cutter. My current blades and cutter have been taking a beating, and I've bent the lower rear of the sides a few times (by backing up into hard dirt or ditch banks I believe).

Unfortunately, my 3320 doesn't have the pto hp to pull a medium duty cutter through such thick brush.

Therefore, I am considering upgrading to a JD 4120 (43/35hp) or JD 4320 (48/40hp) and a MX-6 JD rotary cutter. I know I'll take a loss on the trade-in, but I'm afraid that I'll eventually lose in the long run by tearing up my 5ft light duty rotary cutter and working the 25pto hp 3320 too hard.

Do you think the JD 4120 or 4320 with the MX-6 is an acceptable and tough enough package? Also, is the quality and toughness of the MX-6 comparable to the med duty bush hog and Rhino cutters?

What are are your thoughts?

/ Should I upgrade? #2  
I have the 4120 power reverser & MX6, and have no complaints. I have heard that the ehydro's lose some pto horsepower, so if you go that route you may want to step up to the 4320.

Mower is pretty heavy, and if you dont have a front end loader you will probably need weights or loaded tires if you are mowing hilly terrain.

/ Should I upgrade? #3