3 pt and pto attachment issues

/ 3 pt and pto attachment issues #1  

WorkPorter

I'm a newbie with a jd 2305 and a 4' frontier rear mower and have been wrestling over the difficulty of getting the two attached. Eventual success has depended on using 2 variations from standard operating procedure which I've not found discussed in this forum.

#1- Attaching the PTO before the 3 pt. The manual and everyone here (with 1 exception and he drew no replies) says to do the 3 pt hook up first. My problem with this is that hooking up the 3 pt first seems to not leave enough distance for the fully retracted pto drive to line up. In other words the swivel head must be at least slightly tilted away from the tractor's splines when I try to line the two up. To be honest, I've seen a guy from the dealership succeed in making the connection, but it seems he had to do it by coming at it from an angle rather than straight on and I haven't been able to duplicate that magic. I want to know if there's any harm done by my pushing the mower slightly further back (a few inches) from the tractor, attaching the pto, then pushing the mower closer again to hook up the 3 pt connections.