Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tractor
    John Deere 410 LBH

Default Older John Deere backhoe Hard Starting Question.... Please

Ok, I own a 1974 John deere 410 TLB. It's a pretty large machine and runs pretty well once I get it started, but every time I crank on the engine when cold, I have to fire it about 3 times using starting fluid to get it to go. The first 2 times it starts for a second, and then dies, 3rd time usually being the charm. If I crank without starting fluid it just pretty much keeps turning over without catching.
    To me it sounds like it dosen't have fuel, and the starting fluid is running it just enough to pump up some diesel. Now I'm fairly new to the diesel world so excuse my question if it seems dumb, but a while back I replaced the fuel filter and later got it started, so running it should bleed the rest of the air out of the fuel lines, right? Is it possible that the air has stayed in there and needs to be blead even now? I have looked over the lines and it dosen't appear to be leaking any diesel so the lines shouldn't need to be blead otherwise. I know starting fluid isn't good on this motor, so the less I use the better. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Default Re: Older John Deere backhoe Hard Starting Question.... Please

How many hours on the engine?
    Egon
    50 years behind the times
    Livin in a
    Worn out skin bag filled with rattlin bones

Tractor
    John Deere 410 LBH

Hour meter stopped not too long ago, but roughly 3000

Tractor
    John Deere 4110

Does it have glow plugs:

If Yes-then you need to verify that they are a working properly

If No-then you may need to do a compression test to ensure the engine is healthy.

Another thing to check the the fuel return system, it takes excess fuel from the injectors back to the pump...if the hoses(13) or caps(12) leak, then the fuel drains back after it's shut off making starting hard, common problem on the IH 7.3L engine Ford used from '84 to '93.5.