Loader Left side of loader not lifting

/ Left side of loader not lifting #1  

Thumper1

Hello,

I'm new to tractoring so please forgive my ignorance, at least for a month or so.

I'm using a JD 4500 with a 460 loader, the left side of the loader dosn't seem to want to lift, like it's weak.

I re-built the lift cylinder trying to correct this problem, however, that didn't help. The good thing is I can add cylinder re-building to my list of can do's.

I was going to look at the control unit next but the thing is, even though I know what I'm looking at, I really don't know what I'm looking for. There are no leaks in the system, and it doesn't sound like there is a restrection in the line.

Truth is I need some help

Thank you in advance

Thumper1

/ Left side of loader not lifting #2  
Welcome to TBN:D

I can't see the valve being a problem if the other side is lifting fine as you say-that only leaves the cylinder. I would recomend swapping the cylinders from side to side to see if anything changes. There are ways to test the cylinder also. Could one of the hydraulic tubes that cross the loader torque tube be crushed?

/ Left side of loader not lifting
I'll give swapping the cylinders a try, I didn't see any crushed lines, however, two of them have been replaced, I know this because they don't have any green paint on them and the others do.

I'll look around for crushed lines and swap cylinders and post the results results.

/ Left side of loader not lifting #4  
I'd also look at those two replaced lines--maybe even take them off, clean up the threads etc and re-connect. Make sure they are sized correctly (were they sourced via JD from the prior owner??). It doesn't take much (a little teflon tape??) to slow things down.

Thanks B8,