John Deere 445 Stalling, Hesitating, Bogging, Fixed - Finally

/ John Deere 445 Stalling, Hesitating, Bogging, Fixed - Finally #1  

will v

Tractor
John Deere 445
I wanted to post about a problem I have been chasing down for almost the last three years on my JD 445 Garden Tractor. I have finally found a resolution and along the way I have seen that many 445 owners have asked the same questions I had asked. What I never found was someone saying yes, this is your answer and how diagnosis it and to fix it. Well, I think I have figured out the diagnostic's you need to perform to isolate the problem. Read on

During the summer of 2007 I started to experience a hesitation/stall issue after running the tractor for 15-20 with the mower pto engaged (This problem did not happen under any situation except for the mower pto engaged). The 445 has the injector light on the dash that is supposed to flash a code if you have a sensor fail. But I wasn't getting a sensor light. The motor would sputter, lose power, sometimes die, sometimes stumble and if I lowered the throttle it would catch itself and continue to run. At the time, it wasn't that severe and would not happen each time I ran the tractor.

In 2008, I purchased two new coils (hoping that I was getting heat soak issues in the coils). This didn't help and I was getting the same problem. Though now it was happening just about every time I ran the tractor but still no sensor light. At this point it got down right annoying to run the thing but I got through the year and decided I would deal with it the next summer.