Does my tractor really only have 830 hours??

/ Does my tractor really only have 830 hours?? #1  

Rackluster

Bronze Member
I recently bought an '82 950 w/ mfwd, ps, and a loader. The hour meter works and reads 830'ish hours. The guy I bought it from said the hours are accurate and that he owned the tractor for 18 years. however, he told me that he had the clutch replaced AND the local deere dealer told me the clutch is on it's last setting. It just doesn't seem to add up to me. Clutches should last longer right?

I guess he could have been lying about replacing the clutch? I don't know. Anything I should be looking at to get an idea of what the deal is w/ this tractor?

Being a novice, I would have been better off buying from a dealer but I just could not find a machine I liked (and could afford) at any local dealers and I looked for almost a year. But it is what it is and I LOVE the tractor. Just wondering about that clutch. Any thoughts?

Oh, how much do you think a new clutch would cost? I know they are not cheap.

Thanks a ton!

/ Does my tractor really only have 830 hours?? #2  
Take the serial number to your dealer and have them run it, they can tell you any service or warranty work that was performed at any dealer.

Something does not sound correct here...

/ Does my tractor really only have 830 hours?? #3  
The only thing I can offer is a comment by a former employer, who got on me for stepping on the clutch of a 35 hp gear-drive Massey Ferguson when using the loader - he said I should pick a gear a drive into the pile of dirt, lift the loader and then put in the clutch to engage reverse. I had been putting the clutch in just as the bucket was filling, then lifted it... wonder if I (and the previous owner of the 950) was riding the clutch in a particularly strenuous way?