First Tractor (2040), Need Help

/ First Tractor (2040), Need Help #1  

curdy

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 2040, JD LX188
Recently bought a '76 JD 2040 w/FEL. I am working on all my fluid changes. This is my first tractor, so I could really use some help knowing how to flush out the hydraulic fluid real well when I change it. I could see some milky oil leaking just a tad from the loader, so I'd like to get everything cleaned out real well. I know the tractor sat outside a lot, and also sat for decent periods of time between uses.

I have a new filter for it ready to go along with 5 gallons of some cheaper TSC hyd oil, and 10 gallons of the better ISO 46. I also have 10 gallons of diesel handy as well that I could use if its recommended. I'd like to tackle this today if possible, and I'm not comfortable doing it just from the info I've read on other threads since I've never worked on hydraulics before.

Thanks!

/ First Tractor (2040), Need Help #2  
I'm not sure I'm following you, but are you thinking of flushing the system with the cheaper TSC oil, then draining again and using the ISO 46?

Myself, I'd just let the system drain well, and replace with new filter and good oil. Likely there is no practical need to flush out the old. And don't think I would toss any diesel fuel in there either.

Will you be keeping the 2040 inside now? They are a good tractor and wish you well with your new tractor and seat time.

/ First Tractor (2040), Need Help
Yes, that's what I was thinking. I've read about some guys flushing their systems and getting good results. Some have flushed with cheaper oil and others have flushed with diesel. I know some machines depending on age don't do well with using diesel to flush. I figured it was best to ask to be sure. Yes, the tractor is now sleeping inside and will be for as long as I own it :thumbsup:

/ First Tractor (2040), Need Help #4