Charging problem on my John Deere 4100

/ Charging problem on my John Deere 4100 #1  

Towmater

Tractor
John Deere 4100
Hello! I've had a little problem with having a dead battery. I hooked up a flamming river disconnect switch to see if that would fix it and it seems like it could be the alternator. After charging the battery on a slow charge overnight the charge was at 12.68 volts. I parked it outside during the day and let it run for 15 min with the lights on and the volts dropped to 12.02 while running. I turned the lights off, let it run some more and was slowly climbing to 12.28v and then 12.30 volts. I checked it late last night and the volts after sitting was 12.5v. Note, this is a new battery too but I thought the problem was the battery at first. Does this sound like a bad alternator to anyone? Shouldn't the volts when running be more like 13.0 volts??? Need help... I'm a rookie at this stuff but I think I am on the right track.

/ Charging problem on my John Deere 4100 #2  
Yes, I do think you are on the right track. Charging at half throttle should give you close to 14V with lights out.

/ Charging problem on my John Deere 4100 #3  
Check for proper belt tension. As stated 14v running, not at idle. Battery will (should) maintain 12.5 +- after setting. If stored in barn( any place) mice love the insulation on wires. Have found shorts.

/ Charging problem on my John Deere 4100
Thanks for the advice! I think the next step is to put it at half throttle when running and double check it. I do not believe I was at half throttle when I checked it. Thank you.