3-Point Hitch Weird Thing - Link Broke

/ Weird Thing - Link Broke #1  

DKCDKC

Platinum Member
Tractor
John Deere 3038E
The left lift link on my JD 3038e broke this afternoon - at a time when I was doing FEL work and had nothing on the hitch. The lift link is the bar from the hydraulic arm down to the draft link, the bar that is a third of the 3-pt hitch.

I was busy and didn't notice the break I guess, and backed up with a few vines in my bucket. The back of the tractor rose up - the same effect you get when you try to lift more than the tractor can handle. I lowered the bucket and - tho it took a few seconds for the left rear to drop- I didn't notice it for a few moments - then heard a dragging noise and checked.

The draft link had dropped and, as I backed, it had lifted up the back rear wheel and wedged forward.

I studied the situation - since I was a mile from anywhere, then removed the sway chain and slowly ran forward. The link lifted the tractor again and came out where it was supposed to be. I wired it up until I was finished.

The lift link broke at the weld, so I can only assume it was a defect - although I have used a box blade and rotary cutter on it recently without problem. Got 35 hours on the tractor.

I'll drop by the dealer tomorrow.

/ Weird Thing - Link Broke #2  
The left lift link on my JD 3038e broke this afternoon - at a time when I was doing FEL work and had nothing on the hitch. The lift link is the bar from the hydraulic arm down to the draft link, the bar that is a third of the 3-pt hitch.

I was busy and didn't notice the break I guess, and backed up with a few vines in my bucket. The back of the tractor rose up - the same effect you get when you try to lift more than the tractor can handle. I lowered the bucket and - tho it took a few seconds for the left rear to drop- I didn't notice it for a few moments - then heard a dragging noise and checked.