Chaining it down ?

/ Chaining it down ? #1  

pdqford

Tractor
John Deere 2520
Newbie here, with new to me 2520.

Thinking that I might need to trailer my 2520 w/FEL next week, how do you guys secure the 2520/2720 to the trailer?

Chains or ratchet straps?

And where on the 2520 do you hook the chains/straps?

Thanks for any advice..........................

/ Chaining it down ? #2  
I prefer a 4 point tie down with chains, and ratchet strap for the FEL.

2 chains to the rear axle, 2 chains to the front axle.

With this procedure, even if the trailer flips, the tractor should still be secured to the trailer. :thumbsup:

/ Chaining it down ? #3  
I prefer a 4 point tie down with chains, and ratchet strap for the FEL.

2 chains to the rear axle, 2 chains to the front axle.

With this procedure, even if the trailer flips, the tractor should still be secured to the trailer. :thumbsup:

Plus this the legal way to do it.

MarkV

/ Chaining it down ? #4  
   / Chaining it down ? #5  
When I reviewed the laws for how to tie down a tractor is did not specify chains or ratchet straps. It did specify what ever you are using has to have a working limit half that of the object being tied down.

If the tractor is under 10,000 lbs, then it can be tied down with one chain/strap up front and one in the back. So having two up front and two in the back is legal.

That being said I use four points of contact from tractor to trailer with chains. I have two 15 or 20 foot chains, one chain for the front and one for the back. The chain hook hooks to the frame and the binder hooks to the trailer, the slack is on the trailer and use the same chain on the other side. It essentially makes two chains out of one chain. A bit over kill but I don't want the tractor coming off in the event of an accident. I did haul it around for a long time with straps, but they started to wear so I upgraded to the chains.

Happy trailering.

/ Chaining it down ?
Thanks for the advice, guys.