MMM v. RFM

/ MMM v. RFM #1  

HorseHusband

Tractor
JD 4310
Just realized there was a specific forum for JD tractors. Here's a re-post from the attachment forum:

(First time poster). I've decided to buy a John Deere 4310 for a small 16-acre horse farm (12 acres pasture, 2 acres lawn, 2 acres buidlings/barn/ring). I know that I need a front-end loader (for barn work, etc.) and rear bushhog for the fields. However, I am trying to determine whether to go with a MMM or RFM for my lawn.

I've browsed other postings and am aware of the typical pros/cons between the two. I will need to maneuver around both trees and fences on my lawn, which seems to favor a MMM. But what I can't figure out is how often I would actually have to detach a MMM to do my other work. Is it safe to mow pasture (grass, weeds, very minor brush) with the bushhog and still leave the MMM mounted? Ditto re loader work? Or would I need to detach the MMM each time for fear of damage?

I'm new to country living (but my wife isn't), plead ignornace, and appreciate any and all help. And regrets if this post opens old wounds in the MMM v. RFM debate...

/ MMM v. RFM #2  
HH,

It is so easy and fast to remove and reinstall the MMM on a JD that you can just take it on and off every time you are using the loader or rotary cutter. It takes no more than 5 minutes so long as you do it on a concrete surface. It will take longer and be more frustrating on rough ground or turf. Of course the first time on and off it will take a little longer, but you will soon get the hang of it. For some tractor and mower designs installing or removing a MMM can be an ordeal, but not on a JD. Since you have trees and fences to mow around, the MMM is the easiest to use. Go for it.