JD 110 backhoe buckets

/ JD 110 backhoe buckets #1  

GibbsHill110

Tractor
John Deere 110
Hi everyone. I'm new here. I looked around on the net and found this forum. Sure seems like a great place to learn and share. Well this week I bought my first "toy". It's a 2003 JD 110. I've had some experience with this tractor and I'm very happy with it. Seems its capable of doing about everything I want to do here on my property. Only thing is it came with a small 12 in bucket. So I'm in need of a bigger bucket to do more of what I have planned. It has the "quick attach" mount for the bucket on the hoe. I'm sure I would be better served with a 16-18 inch bucket. So my questions are, do I want a bucket for this mount or should I take it of so I can use a regular pin bucket? The 12 in bucket I have is worn pretty good. Looks like its the bucket hook that is worn and not the quick attach mount. Can that be repaired? So which bucket should I look for, is there any place I can find a used one or am I stuck buying from JD? How much am I looking at? Thanks for any and all opinions!

/ JD 110 backhoe buckets #2  
Several years ago I bought a 16" or 18" QA bucket for my backhoe. It was in the neighborhood of $700 and was well worth it.

A lot of my soil is clay and the clay would not release easily (some times not at all) from the 12" bucket. Later I bought an Addington Thumb, which requires the larger bucket, so my 12" was not worth too much to me at that time. I traded it for something else.

I haven't looked at the JD web site in a long time, but advise you to be careful. At the time I purchased it the dealer initially wanted to charge me the price for adding the bucket to a new machine, which also includes adding the QA system to the machine, and was quite a bit more expensive than the bare bucket.

You might not have this problem since the machine is no longer in production, but you should still check carefully to be sure you are only paying for a bare bucket.