Hydraulic Oil Intervals for JD and other Manufacturers Tractors - Do not get it...

/ Hydraulic Oil Intervals for JD and other Manufacturers Tractors - Do not get it... #1  

eagle107

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota and John Deere Tractors
I constantly read on the forum and other forums that people are changing their hydraulic oil on new tractors at 100 hours, 50 hours or even less and it seem to be for any type of tractor make: JD, Case, NH, Kubota, Kioti and etc. Then many people state that after the hydraulic oil change, the oil looks clean. My question is why are people doing this? It just seems like a waste of oil, especially seeing how expensive hydraulic oil is these days. I am thinking that the oil should be able to be used for a lot more hours and the hydraulic oil filters should be able to trap most of the contaminants in the oil; thus the reason for the hydro filter(s).

Now I am no experts in oils, but my neighbor is a automotive store owner and states that hydraulic oil is more of a cleaning fluid and the oil can be used at longer intervals than people think. He even goes as far as saying that you can wash you hands with the oil. I am not sure about that, but the hydraulic oil does seem to stay pretty clean.