'08 4320 compact leaking fluid around spindle. Help!!!

/ '08 4320 compact leaking fluid around spindle. Help!!! #1  

Pattece

I have a 2008 John Deere 4320 four wheel drive that is leaking axle fluid around the front right spindle area. It appears to be coming from the top seal just below the housing. It is not a big leak, maybe 2 to 3 drops a day is all. Wondering what could be causing this and if there anything that I could do to stop the leak? Is this something I need to take to a dealer and have checked out/fixed or is it something that I could repair in my shop. I am not a mechanic by any stretch but can do simple repairs on things as long as it doesn't require special equipment and the steps are pretty straight forward. Thanks in advance for any advice.

/ '08 4320 compact leaking fluid around spindle. Help!!! #2  
There have been a few threads on leaking spindle seals on here. If I knew how, I would put a link in this thread for you.

You might scroll down to May 18th in this section. Azchopper changed one on his 4300 and took a few pics. Not sure if the 4320 is similar. I think he said the seal was a 2 part seal and cost $57. I'm sure a dealer would charge a couple hundred.

My 4310 is leaking. Started with a few drops a month ago now I'm getting several. I might get the courage to change it this fall. It doesn't look like a big deal.

You can also google search "4320 leaking spindle seal" or however you want to word it and it will probably link you back to a thread on this site. I can't figure out how the search works on this forum.

Good luck and take some pictures while you're at it so I can learn from your experience.

/ '08 4320 compact leaking fluid around spindle. Help!!!
Thanks 4310!! That was very helpful. Looks like the 4300 spindle is very similar to what mine has. He also had a diagram in a previous post he had that shows how it all goes together. I will study this for a while and try to build the courage to fix it myself.