Hydraulic fluid in engine oil?

/ Hydraulic fluid in engine oil? #1  

GordNovo

Silver Member
moving this thread from wrong sub forum---

While out fishing yesterday i get a text from the missus who's out on the 2520 cutting grass and such. She tells me she hears some weird clank sound followed by some loud clicking sounds and the tractor begins puffing heavy smoke. She turns it off immediately.

I check the oil this am and notice the oil level is very high, like 3" above the fill line. It's not milky.. and it has a very light viscosity. also, it does not have a diesel smell. There's no sign of hyd fluid in the site window, but that's not unusual. it often fluctuates out of site. My guess it seems like tranny fluid has made it into the engine. I'm no mechanic but my guess is a main seal between engine and tranny has gone bad.

Does anyone have any experience with such a situation or have an idea on diagnosis? I did a search on the forum and nothing similar came up.

i'm guessing the repairs will be very extensive due to having to split the tractor to get to the seal and possibly repair any piston damage that may have occurred. ugh...

when i posted this on the wrong sub forum earlier today others commented that it could be the hydraulic pump leaking fluid into the engine. My pump has been leaking somewhat for the last year or so, but it's been minor and the leak hasn't appeared to be at the spot where it joins to the block. removing the hydraulic pump looks like a fairly big job on account of the way it's joined across the full front of the block.

thanks everyone...

/ Hydraulic fluid in engine oil? #2  
I can't help at all with the repair process,

But don't worry about any "lubrication failure" associated with UTTO getting into the engine.
Perfectly OK in the short term.

Wish you a speedy "recovery".

/ Hydraulic fluid in engine oil? #3