2240 Hydraulics Questions

/ 2240 Hydraulics Questions #1  

THEPARTYHOUND

Gold Member
Tractor
JD 2240 MFWA (SOLD); Kioti RX7320
I really hate asking dumb questions, but i have a feeling that I'm about to. I recently bought a JD2240. Ive been using this tractor for a couple months now for odd jobs around the property, but have yet to really use the remote hydraulics in the rear. Im looking at a post pounder to use on the 3 point hitch. I have learned that the post pounder requires a larger diameter hose for the return line. Where do i plumb this hose into on the tractor?

20180418_192706.jpg

I think i need to unscrew the plug that a 3/8 ratchet fits into and screw a hose fitting into the hole to attach the return line from the pounder. Next question, does it matter which quick connect port in the picture i attach the high pressure line from the pounder to? Either one will provide high pressure to the pounder, right?

Last question. I know that my tractor uses a closed center hydraulic system. The pounder has its own hydraulic control levers on it. Do those hydraulic controls on the pounder have to be specific to closed center hydraulic systems? Or does it make no difference at all and the pounder could be used on either an open system or a closed system?

/ 2240 Hydraulics Questions #2  
Return oil from pounder should be routed to a ported hyd filter housing(L55982) not just returning oil to sump. Returning hyd oil to sump could cause frt hyd pump to run out of oil while operating pounder. Which breakaway coupler you attach pounder supply hose will be determined by which direction you move SCV control lever but IIRC when plugging in RH outlet one moves control lever rearward. If a closed center plug is available for pounder control valve I will advise to install it for smoother pounder operation. L55982 Cover ADD 70.36 USD

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    10.6 KB · Views: 163
   / 2240 Hydraulics Questions #3