Some basic questions about tractors

/ Some basic questions about tractors #1  

sros990

Tractor
JD 990
I’m new to tractors and would like to know:

(1)Why are gear driven transmissions considered more efficient and reliable than hydro for heavy duty work? What is considered heavy duty work?—(tilling, plowing?)

(2)How difficult is it to operate tractors with gear transmissions?

(3)What is a Power Beyond Kit?

(4)How many Selective Control Valves do I need if I plan to use a tiller, front end loader, brush hog, blade, and possibly a snow blower. Where should the SCVs be located?

Thanks,

Steve

/ Some basic questions about tractors #2  
I have smaller tractors (24hp and 30hp) and don't have Power Beyond on either so I'll toss that question to someone else.

As for Question (1) a gear transmission is slighly more efficient than a hydro because of the design efficiencies of mechanical connections versus fluid power. Regarding HD work, I'm not so sure that is accurate, as commercial loaders are almost always hydro transmissions, but there are tasks that are better suited to gears and others that are better suited to hydro. Mowing the lawn is easier/faster with a hydro, especially if you have to maneuver the tractor around trees, landscaping, corners, buildings, etc. I wouldn't consider "tilling" with a tiller to be a "gear" job, but tilling with a plow is definately better done with a gear tractor. So is box blading. Front end loader work is more efficient with a hydro.

(2) how difficult is it to operate a gear tractor? Heck, even I can do that and I sell candy to kids and tobacco to people addicted to nicotine, so it can't be too tough to operate a gear machine if I can! I simply prefer hydro for use around my property. But anything I do with a hydro I could do with a gear, but it would take me longer. Then again, I don't pull a plow in the field.