Use of Power Reverser

/ Use of Power Reverser #1  

robison

Silver Member
Tractor
John Deere 4510 / John Deere GT235 / DR mower
Greetings,

This is my first post here. I grew up on a farm in Georgia and I now live in Massachusetts. I've had a GT235 mower for some time. I just inherited a new 4510 with 460 FEL. It's a year old but my father became sick right after getting it, and never actually used it, and now I've got it. It has the 12x12 Power Reverser, which I have never used on a tractor before. I understand that the unit can be switched from forward to reverse without clutching, by simply pulling the lever. The owners manual sort of steps over this with 1 sentence.

I was using the loader the other day and I was using the clutch when reversing but then later I was looking in the manual and I saw I did not need to use the clutch.

Anyway, can I reverse at any engine speed without damage?

And can I go into neutral also, then back to forward or reverse without clutching, or can I only make quick switches from F-R?

Any other tips to using this system?

/ Use of Power Reverser #2  
I grew up on a farm and then spent a career away from the farm and am now back. I bought a 4310 with Power Reverser and it was the first tractor I had ever driven that wasn't a "stick shift".

Yes, you can shift between forward and reverse without clutching. I move it to neutral, but that may not be required.

Have to say that I wasn't sure about the power reverser, but after using it, I am very happy that I added it to the purchase.

I do tend to baby my tractor a bit so I don't try to stress the shifting from forward to reverse.

My brother has a shuttle shift tractor and when I have used his and then go back to my tractor, I end up shifting into low gear when I want reverse /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

I think it is just a mater of getting used to what you have. Good luck.

/ Use of Power Reverser #3