JD 990 Good -Bad - Ugly

/ JD 990 Good -Bad - Ugly #1  

madmac

Have concluded the JD990 is the tractor for my needs and am close to getting off the wallet. I would appreciate any comments or feedback from current or existing owners. Good or bad. Repairs etc.

Thanks

/ JD 990 Good -Bad - Ugly #2  
I almost bought one myself, but my dealer wouldn't budge of the price, which was slightly out of my range.

I believe one poster listed a very long review of his machine a few months ago. Check it out here

Good luck. And post pics if you take the plunge. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

/ JD 990 Good -Bad - Ugly #3  
I have 10 hours on my new 990 and really like it. I am probably easy to impress because I had been using a 850 with 2WD and no PS for 18 years.

I paid $19,700 for the 990 w/ 300CX. Also bought a new MX5 for $1,400. received $6,300 credit for the 850 w/ 75 FEL and 503 RM. so, the upgrade cost me $14,800.

I have already pressed the MX5 by running over a couple 3" hard woods

/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif It chewed on them a little bit but made them disappear !! <font color="green"> </font>

Attachments

• 675282-New 990 SEM.jpg
    675282-New 990 SEM.jpg
    83.1 KB · Views: 288
   / JD 990 Good -Bad - Ugly #4  
I have 130hrs on my 990 that I bought on new years eve of 03. It is 4WD, PS, with the 430 loader and R4 tires. I use it for moving trees, splitting wood, cutting grass, moving dirt, hauling debris, grading my driveway, and general maintenance of 10 acres. My tractor experience is limited in that my previous machine was a 850 that I had for 6 years. That said, the 990 is a wonderful machine. The only limitation I have found is the capacity of the 430 loader. It struggles a bit to lift out a full gravel load.

/ JD 990 Good -Bad - Ugly #5