JD 216 Rider Electrical Issue (Battery Not chargin

/ JD 216 Rider Electrical Issue (Battery Not chargin #1  

Derby6

First off hi to all and I hope you can help me. Hopefully this forum is for riding lawn mowers too /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif I have had great luck with these type of internet forums for my diesel pick-up and demo derby hobby /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
I have a JD216 that the battery is not charging. Grounds to battery ar good. Is it my selonoid or what?? Can I get the part used at a reasonable price?? I am NOT a big mechanic, but am not totally tool-less either. I appreciate any thoughts and input to help me get this running for my dad. He bought a new rider because of this (about 2 years ago) and I am fixing this so he has a good reliable back-up!!! /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif It runs and cuts great while battery is charged...lol

/ JD 216 Rider Electrical Issue (Battery Not chargin #2  
Derby,
Before you buy any parts, go thru and follow all of the wires, and connections, and make sure they are all good. My 212 was doing the same thing, previous owner thought it was the PTO clutch, since it wouldn't run for long after it started and you engaged the mower. It wasn't charging... I found that my ignition switch was shot, corroded, and power wasn't going where it needed to. Simple, easy fix, where it could have been easy to throw a bunch of parts at it. If you have a tester, I think the voltage coming into the regulator from the stator should be 24V, but after that I don't remember what I tested that took me to the ignition switch. The regulator looks to be around $45, and should be readily available if you do need that part.
/forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

/ JD 216 Rider Electrical Issue (Battery Not chargin
Thanks,