Greetings!- And JD670 Tiller Slip Clutch Question

/ Greetings!- And JD670 Tiller Slip Clutch Question #1  

FarmerJeff

Greetings- I am new to this forum, but am already impressed by the wealth of knowledge that is contained here.

I am a vegetable farmer in New Hampshire with a growing (no pun intended) business. We have always leased equipment in the past from a farm neighbor, but they have moved away. As we purchase the equipment that is needed to keep ourselves running, we are finding more and more questions.

Before our neighbor moved, we purchased his JD 670 rotary tiller, in excellent condition, except for the warning that "it needs a new slip clutch". I talked to a few folks who have told me, if the slip clutch isn't completely wrecked, than it may just need new friction plates/etc.

I have disassembled the slip clutch, but need to know what to be looking for in terms of wear, etc.

Also, I have searched this site for slip clutch adjustment, but have not seen much for the Belleville spring plate style clutches.

Any insight on adjusting these to work with a 50 hp tractor? Thanks in advance.

Jeff- New Roots Farm

/ Greetings!- And JD670 Tiller Slip Clutch Question #2  
Welcome to the forum.
I assume it is a Deere clutch? If it is, then Deere should have a manual to follow.

I expect it has springs and there are 8 bolts that hold it together. These are adjusted by tightening down to a pre-set distance. Or they can be adjusted tight enough that the clutch doesn't slip under normal load (more difficult and time consuming, but it works). Get friendly with your Deere dealer, as their mechanics likely will be real helpful.

/ Greetings!- And JD670 Tiller Slip Clutch Question
Thanks, BeenThere. Actually, the clutch seems to be a 4 nut Belleville spring style clutch. I am fairly confident that it is a Deere though. The following link is to a Deere manual I found free online for a brush hog. It seems to be exactly the same as far as parts go.